About Us | Wood
Family Funeral Service

Testimonials

We receive many letters and comments from the families we've served, thanking us for our caring ways during their time of loss. Their words warm our hearts, and speak to you of our professionalism, compassion, and the true value of the services we provide.

  • September 27, 2017

    We love all the people there … Every time I go in there, I get a hug, "How you doing?" and asking if I need anything. They really care. It’s like having old friends. I’m very happy with them and the organization. I definitely would recommend your funeral home to anybody in the area who needs it. There’s no need to go any further. I thank you for all the kindness you’ve shown me.

    Alberta
  • September 15, 2017

    We were very, very happy with everything. Everything was wonderful. They took very good care of us. Definitely 5 stars!

    Tammy
  • August 17, 2017

    Sally handled everything and she answered all the questions myself and my daughter were asking, and we were very well pleased. I'm glad my wife and I went in to Woods a couple years ago and set up all the files and the insurance and everything we wanted. When something did happen, you had it all there … Sally was excellent, as far as I'm concerned. I'm glad she was around to help me.

    William
  • August 01, 2017

    I live in Tehachapi and Wood Family has been around forever. Dolly and everyone did a real good job. Everything you said you were going to do for us was done ahead of time. We'll continue to recommend you.

    David Liebengood
  • June 30, 2017

    I was very satisfied. They’re really good people there … I’ve lived here since 1964 and always heard good remarks.

    Edris
  • April 26, 2017

    It couldn't have been nicer. Everyone was so helpful, courteous, and understanding … We've been to many, many funerals at Wood, and we've never heard anything but compliments … We felt like we were dealing with people who were not just doing a business, but were caring and loving.

    Barbara
  • April 21, 2017

    Sally was wonderful. She’s just a great person, and she was a big help. She handled it really well and answered all my questions … We appreciate not just Sally, but the two gentlemen who came that night. They were both very respectful and got us through a tough time. You guys did a remarkable job.

    John
  • March 22, 2017

    They did a fabulous job! They did everything and more than I expected.

    Florence
  • March 10, 2017

    Everything was taken care of just perfect … I know it's a hard time for people, but everyone we talked to was so nice and took care of us really well.

    Jimmy
  • March 07, 2017

    Dolly was very nice, very understanding and patient, and very helpful ... I come from a small town, and I look for certain things. Wood was so nice. Dolly went out of her way, and I really appreciate all the help she gave me.

    Eufemia
  • March 03, 2017

    We would like to thank you all for the professional and personal care you provided for Rodney and us. Words cannot express our appreciation. The portrait of Rodney was especially nice … Both attendants today were very accommodating and a pleasure to work with. We will highly recommend your services to our friends. Thank you again!

    The Grimshaw Family
  • February 09, 2017

    Dolly was very awesome … I would give you 5 stars. You guys do a very good job, and especially in comforting people.

    Christine
  • February 06, 2017

    Dolly was so nice and understanding and explained everything. She just made it all that much easier for me. I've told everybody how nice everything went … I was referred to you by people who lived here for a long, long time, and they were right!

    Judy
  • January 31, 2017

    I have heard so many good things about you all, and that is why we chose you rather than one of the other funeral homes.

    Pamela
  • January 25, 2017

    You did absolutely everything in your power to help us through what we had to go through with kindness and laughter and understanding. You guys did a wonderful job, and I've told everybody … I thank you so very much. You were more like a family than you were a business. You guys keep up the good work because you are doing a wonderful service for everybody.

    Yvonne
  • January 24, 2017

    I was very, very pleased with their kindness and thoughtfulness. Mom and I came in five years ago and made the arrangements. That was very, very helpful to me … Dolly was just wonderful and patient and answered all my questions. After dealing with them, I would certainly not hesitate to recommend them. They were very accommodating, and I really appreciate it.

    Linda
  • January 10, 2017

    It's so wonderful to have somebody that really understands what's going on when you lose somebody like my wife, who I was married to for 64 years. I knew Sally before … it didn't come as a surprise how wonderful she could be in helping you through the different steps. We already had a preneed, under her guidance. If anybody could think that through, they would find out how important that is … We're glad and grateful for her expertise. I was very pleased that Sally was there to help us through that time.

    David
  • December 02, 2016

    Dolly was a sweetheart. You got here, you took care of my husband with great care, and I appreciate it. I would give you five stars. You guys were very attentive. I couldn't have asked for better service.

    Nancy
  • November 15, 2016

    I was extremely satisfied. It's a difficult time, and they handled things for me. It was beyond fantastic!

    Kim
  • November 09, 2016

    I was absolutely satisfied. I got to know Dolly through the Chamber of Commerce because I represent Optimal Hospice in the community. I had several talks with her beforehand, and I knew I would get good service. Thank you.

    Anonymous
  • September 16, 2016

    They were marvelous, absolutely marvelous! They made it very simple for me, and I thanked them and thanked them and thanked them. Five stars!

    Arlene
  • September 07, 2016

    Sally is a real sweetheart. She made this about as good as it was going to get. Of all the people there, Spencer is right there above Sally. He was above and beyond ... He gave me a hug, and that was really appreciated. It meant the world to me. I lost my husband, but with Spencer and Sally, it's like I got a new family in a way.

    Rose
  • September 06, 2016

    Everything went beautiful, and we used The Pavilion outside, which Dolly suggested. I'm so glad we did ... Everything worked out perfect for that. Ten stars!

    Rose
  • September 02, 2016

    We told the hospice nurse we would prefer to do something local, so she mentioned you. She said you had a really good reputation. I want to tell you that the two men who came to pick up Mom from the apartment were so very, very, absolutely kind. They could not have been nicer, could not have been more compassionate. They were really truly amazing ... They were very genuinely kind, and it really showed. It felt like I was entrusting my mom to someone who cared.

    Karen
  • August 29, 2016

    It was perfect; it was everything they said it was going to be and more. I really appreciate what they did, and I would use them again when I die. I heard about them through other friends who used them before, and they were recommended highly.

    Wayne
  • August 19, 2016

    Sally was extremely helpful, considerate, and we appreciated everything she did to help us. She was very patient ... We loved The Pavilion facility. We were extremely pleased with that. It made it so convenient for the reception ... I would definitely recommend our local service.

    Shirley
  • July 13, 2016

    I was so impressed by all of you. I would give you 5 stars. It was not a happy experience, but you made it as easy as possible.

    Isabel
  • July 12, 2016

    They were very sweet, very clear. They just did a perfect job.

    Hendrika
  • July 11, 2016

    Sally was awesome. Everyone who helped us was amazing ... Sally was so kind and thorough and open and accurate, and I really appreciated that ... You guys took care of everything. Thank you very much.

    Gail
  • June 30, 2016

    Dolly was excellent ... We went in ahead of time to make the arrangements. She took care of all of that, and everything was totally done ... I would very much recommend them to anyone. Doing it ahead of time alleviates 90% of everything you have to do and think about at a time when you don't have a clear mind. Whatever questions I did have, I was able to get answers for them. She made it so easy ... I'm happy to say it was all good.

    Maria
  • June 30, 2016

    They were wonderful! Everything went so well, I just cannot think of anything you could have done better. Absolutely 5 stars. I would recommend you to anybody.

    Pam
  • June 16, 2016

    Sally was wonderful ... She was very informative and sympathetic to my needs ... Everything was done really well, with the highest concern, care, and taste.

    Lisa
  • May 20, 2016

    Dolly walked us through everything, helped us. She knows what she's doing ... They are pretty well known here in Tehachapi, and people from church that knew what we were going through said, "Call Woods, they'll take care of you." And they did.

    Carmen
  • May 13, 2016

    Dolly was an absolute angel, and we really appreciate everything she's done for us, and the other people too. It was very well taken care of ... you guys did a marvelous job.

    Geraldine
  • May 02, 2016

    They were absolutely wonderful ... I could have gone to Bakersfield or Lancaster, but I went in to talk to them, and they were ever so friendly and accommodating – no pressures whatsoever. So that’s why I chose them. Definitely five stars.

    Rhonda
  • April 15, 2016

    I was very satisfied, more than satisfied. You guys couldn't have been better. I highly recommend you ... I was glad somebody recommended you to me. You were great, very kind, businesslike, and very professional. I have nothing but praise.

    Jedd
  • March 25, 2016

    They were superb! They were so kind, they were professional -- I really liked their service a lot. They really did a good job. Wood's has been in Tehachapi forever. We’ve always depended on them. They're a mainstay in Tehachapi.

    Joaquin
  • March 22, 2016

    I'm going to Wood's to make arrangements for my funeral. When you're a swimmer and you're drowning and someone gives you a hand and lifts you up, that's how I felt. They did an excellent job!

    Lucy
  • March 17, 2016

    Everything Sally did was wonderful. She took care of everything I needed to have done. It was a difficult situation, but she made it easier for me. Everything was handled very efficiently and very professionally, as well as compassionately. I never felt like I was a burden or a number ... She was really there for me.

    Clair
  • March 10, 2016

    They're all very nice at your facilities, very responsive. They answer back, and they're patient with your accommodations. It's a great staff you have.

    Judy
  • March 02, 2016

    I thought everybody made it very, very easy, and I was very appreciative. What made it so easy was they made those arrangements years ago ... Now I know that I need to go in and take care of that because it took away a lot of the stress.

    Terri
  • February 09, 2016

    I was definitely pleased with everything. It was perfect. Everything was handled, and I didn't have to worry about anything extra ... I would give you 5 stars, no hesitation!

    Debbie
  • February 02, 2016

    Sally made me feel very comfortable. I had a lot anxiety when I went in there, but it was a good experience ... Everybody was very respectful and sincere ... I was glad I chose them.

    Teresa
  • February 01, 2016

    The ladies were great. They were very, very helpful, very warm and caring. It worked out well.

    Marilyn
  • January 28, 2016

    We have used Wood many, many times. Dolly, who takes care of all that stuff, is just fabulous. My husband and I had gone a couple of years ago and prearranged my funeral and his, so I didn't have much to do, and she took care of it.

    Doris
  • January 13, 2016

    Everybody there was very professional. The property up there is amazing, and everything that was offered to us was very high quality.

    Sally
  • October 27, 2015

    They were very respectful ... I told so many people how respectful they were and how satisfied we were. We would recommend you highly.

    Inge
  • October 20, 2015

    I would give you five stars. We really did get the loving care, the compassion, the help planning it, and the advice that my daughter and I needed to get us through this ... Dolly was there, and this is definitely her calling.

    Charlene
  • October 12, 2015

    They answered all my questions, and they were there at a moment's notice. They were excellent! I've had quite a few friends who used your services, and they were very pleased.

    Rose
  • October 06, 2015

    Dolly did an excellent job. We came from out of town, and we got there late and ended late, but she was in no hurry to rush things. There was no pressure, no rushed feeling. It was a very, very relaxing time. We had a nice visit, and we kept her beyond her normal hours. Everything went beautifully ... I would have to give you an A+.

    Ronald
  • September 22, 2015

    It was very professional, very compassionate, and very comprehensive … Dolly understood it was a very difficult time, and she handled it very delicately. I couldn't have asked for anything better.

    Catherine
  • August 31, 2015

    We were all very satisfied with it … We really appreciate your professionalism. You guys were right there for us when we needed you.

    Bob
  • August 26, 2015

    It was very nice. We loved it very much. Everything went as we wanted it to go, and we were very satisfied.

    Elaine
  • They were incredibly supportive, very supportive. I would give you 10 stars … They were wonderful!

    Marvin
  • Everyone was very friendly. Dolly answered every question I had. She made it a lot easier.

    Jessica
  • Dolly made it really amazing for me … I never had to go through this before. She consoled me through the whole thing. She made me feel like it wasn't just a stranger holding my hand. All of them are really nice … I would definitely go with your services again.

    Jennifer
  • They just did so great, so caring and nice. Everything about the service went really swimmingly because of them.

    Kathleen
  • Things went so smoothly, I couldn't ask for better help. I couldn't give enough praise for the whole staff … Dolly guided me through everything. She was outstanding!

    Lydia
  • Dolly was very helpful and your service was wonderful. It's the only mortuary here in town, but I've always heard wonderful things about it, so that wasn't a problem. I would give you 5 stars.

    Carolyn
  • I am very satisfied with you people, very satisfied. I would give you the highest star there is!

    Clifford
  • They treated us really well. Everything was done beautifully. Nice job.

    Nancy
  • Everything went smoothly ... You guys are 5-star all the way.

    James
  • Oh my goodness, I can’t say enough about Sally and Dolly! It’s such a great place. The funeral went well, and everything fell into place so nicely, and I thank them so much!

    Donna
  • The service was outstanding. As a matter of fact, everything was perfect. I saw you guys on the internet. I was looking around Lancaster, someplace close to California City; and I heard that you were pretty reliable, so that’s why I chose you.

    Carl
  • They helped me through a terrible crisis. I’m still going through it, but they were helpful in every way they possibly could. I would recommend Wood to any family in this town.

    Jeanne
  • It went very smooth, and Rachel was just so sweet and really helped us. I just really appreciate everything everyone did.

    Carol
  • Everybody with Wood was wonderful. The man who drove my dad down to Forest Lawn was fantastic. He stayed with us, stuck with us through to the end. It could not have been better. Through the police department, I have been involved with Wood and was always impressed with their staff.

    Jeffery
  • Everything was beautiful, and I appreciate what you did. It’s a great funeral home, and you went out of your way to help me.

    Caroline
  • Dolly and everybody did a wonderful job. We had a little service at the graveside. They handled all the paperwork from the business end of things, and they were downright friendly … I have already reserved a spot for me at the veteran’s cemetery, and they helped with the paperwork for that.

    Monte
  • I tell the whole world that there’s nobody better than Wood Family Funeral Service, especially Sally. She’s so compassionate at the time of your need. And Dolly, she’s wonderful too. They are there for you, they return your calls, very comforting. I couldn’t ask for anything better in this world. They understand the people’s needs. That’s what you need in this world, someone to take the time, to listen. They are there every moment … Anybody who has a person to pass away, you get comfort with them. Sally is an angel of God.

    Anonymous
  • Dolly was very kind, very understanding, very helpful, and very supportive … I’ve been there for funerals for friends, and everything was always nice. People always said good things about them.

    Patricia
  • Everything from coming to my house and picking up my husband to helping me make choices, everything was excellent.

    Susan
  • I was very pleased. I’ve known the Woods Family at least 30 years, and they have a very good reputation here in town. It’s magnificent.

    Pete
  • Sally was outstanding. I can’t say enough about her!

    Mark
  • We were really impressed. Everybody was real sincere. It was really nice. Everything they did for us – the concern, the sincerity – was right on the money.

    Jesse
  • I was very pleased with everything. I really don’t have any complaints. It’s a trying time, but everyone was very patient, kind, and proficient.

    Melinda
  • They were exceptional. I was very pleased with everything. Everything went beautifully, and what we had done went completely to my mother’s wishes. I really enjoyed working with Dolly. It was done very professionally. You guys were great!

    Terri
  • Oh, I really love Sally. She’s so professional and sweet. She did everything in the world, explained everything. She was exceptional, really.

    Lometa
  • You have been absolutely wonderful. I guess I just can’t find the words except “wonderful.” I would definitely recommend you, I really would. You have exceeded my expectations.

    Donna
  • I couldn’t have had a better person to help me through this and understand; and doing this long distance, Dolly was great. She just was right there from the beginning to the end.

    Connie B.
  • Dolly was wonderful, very good. I was perfectly happy. You guys were great. We live in Tehachapi, and I’ve heard great things about Wood.

    Margie
  • Everything went very smoothly. Sally was very nice to work with and took a lot of the pressure off me.

    Connie
  • Everything was done ASAP. Everything was just completely wonderful during a time of grief like that. I’m quite happy with your services.

    Brenda
  • Everything turned out really good, and they were really helpful. It was a really good, pleasant experience, I have to say that. I’ll definitely use you again. I wouldn’t even hesitate. I would definitely refer you to someone else.

    Yvonne
  • I couldn’t have been more satisfied. Everything was just perfect dealing with you … it was so simple and just without stress at all. You were wonderful. I couldn’t have been more happy with the care we got from you.

    Jacqueline